Board makes appointments, nominations

first_imgSeventy-two lawyers have been nominated to judicial nominating commissions, six to the Florida Board of Bar Examiners, and four have been named to the ABA House of Delegates by The Florida Bar Board of Governors, acting at its May 30 meeting in Key West.The meeting was the last of the 2002-03 budget year, where the board usually makes a wide variety of appointments.For the ABA posts, the board picked three lawyers to serve in the House of Delegates (incoming President-elect Kelly Overstreet Johnson automatically fills a fourth seat). The board chose outgoing Bar President Tod Aronovitz and former Bar Presidents Steve Zack and Herman Russomanno.They will all serve two-year terms beginning in August. JNCsFor the judicial nominating commissions, the Bar nominates three lawyers for a seat on each of the 26 JNCs. Gov. Jeb Bush makes the final appointments. The board did not make any nominations in the Third and 19th circuits, where it is advertising for more applicants.Those nominated include:• For the Supreme Court JNC, O. John Alpizar of Melbourne Beach, Ky M. Koch of Belleair, and Cynthia S. Tunnicliff of Tallahassee.• For the First District Court of Appeal, A. Hamilton Cooke of Jacksonville, Thomas L. Powell of Tallahassee, and M. Stephen Turner of Tallahassee.• For the Second DCA, Amy S. Farrior of Tampa, Betsy E. Gallagher of Tampa, Julius J. Zschau of Dunedin.• For the Third DCA, Edward G. Guedes of Miami Beach, Adrienne Promoff of Miami, and Gerald B. Wald of Pinecrest.• For the Fourth DCA, F. Gregory Barnhart of Palm Beach, Manuel Farach of Hobe Sound, and Gerald F. Richman of Palm Beach Gardens.• For the Fifth DCA, Vivian P. Cocotas of Orlando, Ladd H. Fassett of Orlando, and Jill S. Schwartz of Maitland.• For the First Circuit, William E. Bond, Jr., of Pace, Roy M. Kinsey, Jr., of Pensacola, and Drew S. Pinkerton of Shalimar.• For the Second Circuit, Michael Coppins of Tallahassee, Brian S. Duffy of Tallahassee, and Dean R. LeBoeuf of Tallahassee.• For the Fourth Circuit, A. Graham Allen of Jacksonville, Rutledge R. Liles of Jacksonville, and David M. Wells of Orange Park.• For the Fifth Circuit, Katherine Piccin Glynn of Reddick, Joseph M. Mason, Jr., of Brooksville, and Jeffrey M. Pfister of Tavares.• For the Sixth Circuit, Robert C. Decker of North Redington Beach, Leo H. Meirose, Jr., of St. Petersburg, and Julian Emory Wood of St. Petersburg.• For the Seventh Circuit, Edwin Dyer Davis II of Ormond Beach, Harold C. Hubka of Ormond Beach, and Brynn Gail Newton of Flagler Beach.• For the Eighth Circuit, Zelda L. Jarman Hawk of Gainesville, Peggy Flemming Schrieber of High Springs, and Elizabeth A.W. “Pan” Zettler of Williston.• For the Ninth Circuit, Andrea Black of Orlando, Patrick T. Christiansen of Orlando, and Richard P. Reinhart of Winter Park.• For the 10th Circuit, Mitchell Dean Franks of Lakeland, Stephen R. Senn of Lakeland, and Janet M. Stuart of Lakeland.• For the 11th Circuit, Edward R. Blumberg of Coral Gables, Cynthia Everett of Miami, and Tomas F. Gamba of Coral Gables.• For the 12th Circuit, Mark R. Kapusta of Sarasota, Alexandra D. St. Paul of Bradenton, and Shirin M. Vesely of Bradenton.• For the 13th Circuit, Caroline K. Black of Tampa, Clifton C. Curry, Jr., of Valrico, and Neal A. Sivyer of Tampa.• For the 14th Circuit, Larry Ashmore Bodiford, William. S. Henry, and Roland W. Kiehn, all of Panama City.• For the 15th Circuit, Jack Alan Goldberger of Palm Beach Gardens, Joann Barone Kotzen of West Palm Beach, and Spencer Sax of Boca Raton.• For the 16th Circuit, John A. Jabro of Tavernier, Nancy R. Rossell of Key West, and Halford G. Schuhmacher of Marathon.• For the 17th Circuit, Steve E. Moody of Davie, Diana Santa Maria of Cooper City, and Richard J. Zaden of Wilton Manors.• For the 18th Circuit, Harold T. Bistline of Indian Harbour Beach, John R. McDonough of Longwood, and James T. Skuthan of Longwood.• For the 20th Circuit, Jeffrey D. Fridkin, William D. Keith, and Ted Zelman, all of Naples.Those chosen by Bush will serve four-year terms beginning July 1. Bar ExaminersFor the Florida Board of Bar Examiners, the board nominated Alexander Caballero of Riverview, Douglas Chumbley of Miami, Patricia T. Gross of Tavares, David J. Mesnekoff of Miami, Frank Nussbaum of Miami, and Darrell Winston Payne of Coral Gables.The Supreme Court will pick two from that group, who will serve five-year terms beginning in November.Other appointments made by the board include:• John T. Berry of Lansing, Mich., Matthew Gissen of Miami, Paul L. McKean of Sarasota, Joseph Murphy of Tampa, and Gail Sasnett of Gainesville for three-year terms on the Florida Lawyers Assistance, Inc., Board of Directors.• Harriet P. Brown of Orlando, Howard A. Caplan of Jacksonville, Erica D. Glover of Tallahassee, Donna M. Krusbe of West Palm Beach, Noel G. Lawrence of Jacksonville, and Lynn E. Wagner of Winter Park for two-year terms on the Florida Legal Services, Inc., Board of Directors.• Jerry L. Newman of Tampa for a four-year term on the Florida Patients’ Compensation Fund Board of Directors.• Patrick Michael Patterson of Pensacola from the First DCA, Stuart Arthur Goldstein of Miami from the Third DCA, and John P. Brooks of Orlando from the Fifth DCA for four-year terms on the Statewide Nominating Commission for Judges of Compensation Claims. Board makes appointments, nominations July 1, 2003 Regular Newscenter_img Board makes appointments, nominationslast_img

0 thoughts on “Board makes appointments, nominations”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *